what is a phd?

I am now officially (and Happily) working with the Norwegian Theatre Academy which is inside the HIOF – university of Ostfold. A huge and rather cold building by the freezed waters of Fredrickstad (south of Norway) with plenty of nice and warmhearted people inside. So a very interesting fresh start for me since I am absolutely not coming from this ‘milieu’ : education, research, university belongs in the past for me back when I was in the sorbonne. But in many ways everything is really new to me.
So is the LANGUAGE they use. The wording. And I often wonder what do they really mean…
As I was trying to understand some of the weird terms I heard around these last days, I came across the best explanation ever for what a PhD is.

You should absolutely check the link beneath! Even if you are a scholar or someone who knows it all, you will smile and I guess, feel rather interested in the perspective put out…
For me, this guy so got it all!
And if you look a little further on his website he gives really interesting feedback on how to go ahead if you have to write one (PhD) based on his own experience! Very appealing ….

http://matt.might.net/articles/phd-school-in-pictures/

Leave a Reply

