Should I really be on Facebook?

People scared of Facebook and social networks -and probably using then anyhow- often use the arguments that they are concerned for their privacy (the collective  remembrance and great fear of “Big Brother” who is watching U!) and of course the lack of time. I agree with both items. And of course, all depends of how and why you use the social networks and specially, the one and only…. facebook.

It seems that, finally, all of us are “raising” in this world at least 2 characters. Your own character, the one of your daily life, the one eating breakfast and leaving crumbs on the table and on the floor + an “online” character, a very neat one, not eating, not spilling, clean and delivering crafty and wise messages for the world to hear (shouting it on walls!!!). sometimes this latter is taking so much space that it becomes almost predominant in ones life! Whether you can share your private life, or you just give some very little hints on yourself, or even pretend to be someone else, the facebook-character comes crawling in your daily life and I would say makes us….different. Whether you share wise sentences you have found on the web and you copy them on your wall makes you wiser or not is not the question. But from something you did not do, and now you do, changes who you are and what you do. Every day, you share pictures probably searching for the most interesting, the most exceptional, the one not yet seen, you probably train your eye, your senses, your choice. You become critical. You become some sort of curator. Yes, you become more virtual day by day, but also you become more real day by day. So what? Facebook offers you a beautiful shop-window : your own private little boutique where you can sell whatever you want! 30 comments later, all is finished. Erased.

And life moves on, you exhibit something else again, on a brand new window for a new argument, a new comment, fishing again for the best ranking of LIKES!

So take the plunge, the water is warm, mainly clean waters (you know how to avoid dirty ones don’t you?!) and you get to swim with some of the most interesting and uplifting platforms on the planet!

when it comes to time, I could argue that social networking takes quite some time off my working day but it does also save me a lot of time –  I find valuable information and shapes my critical views and understanding, gives me arguments and knowledge and I have out there people expanding my professional family in areas I would never have thought before. So I get messages from any part of the world from people supporting my projects and ideas and only this, creates strength and gives energy. It leads to new ideas, better, smarter ways of doing things and challenges me not to disappointed a “group” of people out there !! also  I can always turn to them for questions and answers…The web tools can be against you but they also can be your friends. All depends where you set your cursor. quality and effectiveness can definitely achieved through the social networks you just need to know what you are doing. consciousness here like in all other aspects of your life no? Everything can be diverting and criticized: TV, newspapers, radio, video games.

We bring discipline to our work, or we would not be were we are, and we bring the same discipline to our use of Social Networks. We control the time we spend on them by evaluating the importance of the information or network and its value to our work. We know when we are wasting time and when we are being productive and it is exactly the same when using a social network.

3 Comments

  1. Greetings from California! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to browse your blog on my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you present here and can’t wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how fast your blog loaded on my mobile .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, wonderful site!

Leave a Reply

