all · info · me · work

Cultivating your creative energy

I recently experienced a few incredibly productive weeks. And yet, in the midst of all that productivity, something just didn’t feel right. It was deeply unsettling, so I decided to take some very radical decisions and also some time to collect my thoughts. What was it that was making me a little “unhappy”?

I reached out to some friends, returned to some of my favourite books, and spent a lot of time just sitting with my thoughts.

Eventually, during an afternoon of seeking answers, I came across some very simple ideas. I had to clean up my system, my life, my career….⠀

Screen Shot 2015-06-05 at 09.39.40

And while doing this I encountered this sentence that had some great effect…

“Writing is a spiritual practice. You are diving inside of yourself and cleaning out the toxins. If you don’t do it every day, you lose the ability. If you do it every day, then slowly you find out where all the toxins are. And the cleaning can begin.” (James Altucher)

And that’s when it hit me: the toxins were building up, and I wasn’t cleaning them out. I was making time for everything else, but I wasn’t making time for my creative energy. And I was also letting things get to me.

We think of our bodies as needing constant care, but what about our creative energies? I certainly never did. To me, any sort of creative activity had always just been something I enjoyed doing. I know that I am a passionate person (maybe too much), and that when I really want something, I can do it. For example, I am not so bad at writing, and I have fun doing it, but I never sought it out as something that I needed to do in the same way that I need to eat or sleep. Now, I realize that neglecting my creative energy is no different than neglecting my health.

I read somewhere: Your mind is not a cage. It’s a garden. And it requires cultivating.

So I decided it was about time to dedicate my summer into cultivating my creative energy that I have been leaving unattended a little too long…or to be right I have used into things and people that were not helping me clean up and feed my soul.

 

Leave a Reply

