world

research. mothers. process.

In common with many women, the birth of my first child undeniably changed the way I thought about myself, my life, my job, my process as a human being. When meeting other mothers, or reading stories about them, I discovered that many have been on a similar path, motherhood changing a whole system of values and priorities.

Working on my own artistic research is giving me for the first time the opportunity to reflect differently on a subject that inspires me very much and to develop further my instinctive artistic process.

Having done a lot of research in a field called psychogenealogy – I thought it would be interesting to combine it with my artistic process.

The subtle and silent functioning of the family’s collective unconsciousness that every day influences our acts, behavior and even health.

MOTHERS will talk about orphanage and miscarriage, stories of abandoned children and confused mothers, stories of abuse, stories of guilt, stories of loss and absence, all coming together into a new format, a new story, a new legend.

Motherhood will be researched and characterized with a sense of melancholy, often referring to childhood memories.

I will try to show the family´s embodied complexity and the roles of the mothers in them.

At this stage, it feels appropriate for me to work with a collection of different materials; photographs, old & new, private & donated, different documents, wood, paper, small objects, the useless – the disposable things that we can´t get rid of, gluing mini-portraits together, linking the strange and the beautiful, showing the disembodied fractures, pieces and stories. And putting it all back into another symbolic interpretation.

As a starting point, I will work on my own family as an example of the many stories of immigration and wandering through geography and history.

But I will also gather other stories, and invite people to join the process in order to achieve a more universal narrative.

And to end, I would like to give you the definition of what is research according to UNESCO.

Research is “any creative systematic activity undertaken in order to increase the stock of knowledge, including knowledge of man, culture and society, and the use of this knowledge to devise new applications.”

And I thought it fits perfectly into the subject cause for me, this is also the definition of a MOTHER.

Leave a Reply

